This is the "Home" page of the "Sequential Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sequential Art  

Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013 URL: http://aischool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=512408 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sequential Art- Podcast project

Interesting stuff!

 

Art Exhibit & Resources

Reflecting Culture: The Evolution of American Comic Book Superheroes: an exhibit that traces the evolution of American comic book Superheroes from the Golden Age of comics (1938-1951) to the present. (Mont Clair Art Museum, Montclair, NJ)

In the news:

Exhibit traces history of comic book superheroes

The Superhero as Society’s Mirror, From World War II to Iraq

Resources:

Exhibit Booklet

Exhibit Panels

 

Databases

Please remember when accessing datbases from home you will need username/password combinations which can be found on the Secondary School Library Resources page. 

 

      Britannica Image Quest

      Biography in Context

      Britannica Online High

      Grolier Online

      JSTOR - limit collections "Art History"

      and "History".

      SIRS Decades

      SIRS Issues Researcher

      World Book Online

 

Books in the library

Cover Art
The Comics: an Illustrated History of Comic Strip Art - Walt Kelly (Artist); Winsor McCay (Artist); Milton Caniff (Artist); Hal Foster (Artist); Others (Artist); Jerry Robinson
From Jerry Robinson, legendary creator of the Joker, seventy-year veteran of the comics industry, and prominent figure in monthly books, daily strips, and comics journalism, comes a comprehensive history of the truly American art form! The Comics is a fully reworked and updated edition of the 1974 classic that chronicles the origins and evolution of comic strips, from prior to The Yellow Kid through today, and highlights the game-changing contributions of such creative luminaries as Milton Caniff, Walt Kelly, Hal Foster, and Winsor McCay, among countless others. A fascinating resource of enduring excellence for fans of the art form, historians, and casual readers alike, this edition has been extensively revisited by Robinson and tells the stories behind the newsprint page.

Cover Art
The DC Comics Encyclopedia - Michael Teitelbaum; Scott Beatty; Robert Greenburger; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Phil Jimenez; Daniel Wallace
Following the success of the first edition, the updated and revised DC Comics Encyclopedia offers even more incredible DC detail and imagery than the original. 48 brand-new pages include major updates on characters and storylines (including the recent "Infinite Crisis" story arc). This spectacular, up-to-the-minute encyclopedia will delight comic fans of every age.

Cover Art
The Comics - Brian Walker
Combined edition of The comics before 1945, first published in 2004, and The comics since 1945, first published in 2002.

Cover Art
The Marvel Encyclopedia - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Celebrate 70 years of Marvel Comics with "The Marvel Encyclopedia." Fully updated with new images and text, this one-volume tome contains more than 1,000 of Marvel's greatest. Full color.

Cover Art
The World Encyclopedia of Cartoons - Maurice Horn
This revised edition studies the lives and works of the greatest cartoon artists, as well as their contributions and influences on the genre. Entries include descriptions of the characters, themes and storylines.

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Asterix - Albert Uderzo; René Goscinny; Anthea Bell (Translator); Derek Hockridge (Translator)
This book includes a biography of Goscinny and Uderzo, including the development of Asterix, and answers to the really important questions - what is the magic potion? When did Dogmatix appear? And why are there so many chickens everywhere?

The Comic Book Heroes - Will Jacobs; Gerard Jones

Tintin and the World of Herge - Benoit Peeters

Cover Art
Super Basics - Angel Matsumoto (Illustrator)
This is a guide to explaining manga creation and illustration styles to novices interested in trying their own hands at manga and comic books. The book's writing style and illustrations are all extremely straightforward. A comprehensive volume, this guide covers all of the key elements from the basic concepts in creating manga to techniques in character development, panel divisions, and developing manga with backgrounds. Contains 50 more pages than previous volumes!

 

Comics

  • Collection: Cartoon Image Database
  • Short Link: https://cartoonimages.osu.edu/Pi8aMH5aL
  • Digital Image Number: d_10691

  • Finding Number: SPEC PN 6728.1 M3 C2 v.2 no.8

  • Collection Code: ED
  • Format: mechanical reproduction
  • Genre: comic book
  • Creator: Kirby, Jack, 1917-1994
  • Co-Creator: Joe Simon

  • Title: Captain America

  • Date: 1941-00-00

  • Period: 1940s (1940-1949)
  • Media: ink, paper
  • Size: 25.5 x 19.5 cm

  • Credit Line: EDCGA - Eldon Dedini Collection, The Ohio State University Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum
  • File Size: 104 MB



 

Cartoon Image Database- Ohio State University

  • Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum
    The largest and most comprehensive academic research facility documenting printed cartoon art administered by the Ohio State University Libraries. Includes the collections of the International Museum of Cartoon Art and the artwork and papers of Milton Caniff.

 

Oliver - Library Catalog

Search Now:  

  
 

NoodleTools

         

             Resource for Citing sources

Noodletools Help

If you have questions about citations please submit a ticket by using Noodletools help.

Comics from the Free Web

  • Marvel Universe Wiki
    Over 100,000 contributed pages covering images, videos and information on Marvel Characters, Comics, and Imprints. Covers Captain America, Spiderman, the Hulk and Ironman.
  • DC Comics
    Over 76,209 articles and 86,598 images contributed by fans. Covers, Aquaman, Batman, Green Arrow, Green Lantern, Superman and Wonder Woman.
  • Comiclopedia
    An illustrated compendium of over 12,000 comic artists from around the world
  • Sequart
    Sequart Research & Literacy Organization is a non-profit organization devoted to promoting comic books as a legitimate artform.
  • Center for Cartoon Studies
    CCS is "dedicated to providing the highest quality of education to students interested in creating visual stories."
  • Billy Ireland Cartoon Collection
    Search images, photos, drawings and other primary sources in the entire collection
  • Superhero Database | Superheroes, Villans, Teams and Superpowers
  • Comics Journal
    Covers the widest range of cartooning - newspaper strips, alternative and mainstream graphic novels, international works, editorial cartoons, webcomics, manga and much more - all from an arts-first perspective.
 

Other interesting books!

Cover Art
Comic Book Nation - Bradford W. Wright
This provocative history of the comic book within the context of the 20th century is presented, with the author looking at every genre from the 1930s to the 1980s, and focusing on the role comic books played in transforming children and adolescents into consumers. 43 halftones. 10 line drawings.

Cover Art
Comics and Sequential Art - Will Eisner
Based on Will Eisner's legendary course at New York's School of Visual Arts, these guides have inspired generations of artists, students, teachers, and fans. In Comics and Sequential Art, Eisner reveals the basic building blocks and principles of comics, including imagery, the frame, and the application of time, space, and visual forms. Graphic Storytelling and Visual Narrative teaches how to control a story effectively using a broad array of techniques. With examples from Eisner's own catalog and such masters as H. Foster, R. Crumb, Art Spiegelman, Milton Caniff, Al Capp, and George Herriman, these books distill the art of graphic storytelling into principles that every comic artist, writer, and filmmaker should know.

Cover Art
Making Comics - Scott McCloud
Scott McCloud tore down the wall between high and low culture in 1993 with Understanding Comics, a massive comic book about comics, linking the medium to such diverse fields as media theory, movie criticism, and web design. In Reinventing Comics, McCloud took this to the next level, charting twelve different revolutions in how comics are generated, read, and perceived today. Now, in Making Comics, McCloud focuses his analysis on the art form itself, exploring the creation of comics, from the broadest principles to the sharpest details (like how to accentuate a character's facial muscles in order to form the emotion of disgust rather than the emotion of surprise.) And he does all of it in his inimitable voice and through his cartoon stand–in narrator, mixing dry humor and legitimate instruction. McCloud shows his reader how to master the human condition through word and image in a brilliantly minimalistic way. Comic book devotees as well as the most uninitiated will marvel at this journey into a once–underappreciated art form.

Cover Art
Superheroes and Philosophy - Tom Morris (Editor); Matt Morris (Editor)
The comic book naratives of superheroes wrestle with profound and disturbing issues in original ways: the definitions of good and evil, the limits of violence as an effective means, the perils of enforcing justice outside the law, the metaphysics of personal identity, and the definition of humanity. Superheroes and Philosophy tackles these and other philosophical questions in an intellectual yet engaging way suitable for any comic book fan.

Cover Art
Understanding Comics - Scott McCloud
Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, this innovative comic book provides a detailed look at the history, meaning, and art of comics and cartooning.

Cover Art
Graphic Novels and Comics in the Classroom - Carrye Kay Syma (Editor); Robert G. Weiner (Editor)
Sequential art combines the visual and the narrative in a way that readers have to interpret the images with the writing. Comics make a good fit with education because students are using a format that provides active engagement. This collection of essays is a wide-ranging look at current practices using comics and graphic novels in educational settings, from elementary schools through college. The contributors cover history, gender, the use of specific graphic novels, practical application and educational theory.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip