This is the "Home" page of the "Secondary School - Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Secondary School - Databases  

Resources for Secondary School Students
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2017 URL: http://aischool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=680137 Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference Databases

Academic Search Complete

Brain POP 

Username: aislibrary1
Password: goeagles

Britannica Image Quest 

EBSCOhost  Search all EBSCO databases and eBooks. 

Explora Secondary Schools Articles from hundreds of popular magazines as well as newspapers, encyclopedias, biographies, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents, scholarly journals, and eBooks.

Explora Elementary Schools Explora contains complete articles from dozens of the most popular elementary school magazines. All complete articles are assigned reading-level indicators (Lexiles®), and many articles are available in color PDF. You’ll also find easy-to-read encyclopedia entries written specifically for kids and more than one million images of photos, maps and flags.

JSTOR Full-text scholarly journal articles from all academic disciplines. JSTOR’s coverage extends back to the earliest date of publication of a given periodical, but will not usually include the very latest issues. If you do not have an account with JSTOR, you must create one the first time you visit the site .

MAS Ultra  Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Middle Search Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags

 

Almanac

 

Current Events & Issues

Facts On File - Issues and Controversies 

 

News

TheDay

  • Username:  AIS
  • Password: theday

Great resource for current events.

NewsAdemic

  • Username:  library@aischool.org
  • Password: Aislibrary1

Newspaper Source

New York Times

  • Username:  library@aischool.org
  • Password: aislibrary

ProQuest Newstand

Full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, as well as articles from a wide range of academic journals in all subject areas. Also includes National Geographic articles from 1986-present.

 

 

Humanities

 

Science

Brain POP

Username: aislibrary1

Password: goeagles

Flipster  Scientific American, Scientific American Mind

 

Upper School Discovery

High School Quick Search:

One-stop searching in databases selected for High School students.

Search Selected HS Databases.
 

Salem History

  • Username:  library@aischool.org
  • Password: aislibrary1

 

e -Book Collections

EBSCO Academic e-book collection (US)

EBSCO K-8 e-book collection (MS) 

Gale Virtual Library (e-Books)

Netlibrary e-books  accessed through the card catalog requires : Username: aischool Password: aischool

 

Magazines

History Today  (Periodical) 

Username: aischool
Password: aislibrary

Economist  

Username: library@aischool.org
Password: aislibrary

Flipster (Bloomberg Business Week, BBC History Magazine, National Geographic, Scientific American, Scientific American Mind, Time magazine)

EMC eMagazine 

Username: library@aischool.org
Password: aislibrary

 

Other Libraries

Atlanta Fulton County Library password: Call the Public Library for the Galileo password. It changes several times a year.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip