This is the "Home" page of the "Design Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Design Technology  

Last Updated: Aug 10, 2016 URL: http://aischool.libguides.com/designtechnology Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Design Tech Books

Cover Art
Architecture - Francis D. K. Ching; Francis D. Ching
ISBN: 9780471752165
Publication Date: 2007-06-29
A superb visual reference to the principles of architecture. Now including interactive CD-ROM!. For more than thirty years, the beautifully illustrated Architecture: Form, Space, and Order has been the classic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architectural design.

The updated Third Edition features expanded sections on circulation, light, views, and site context, along with new considerations of environmental factors, building codes, and contemporary examples of form, space, and order. This classic visual reference helps both students and practicing architects understand the basic vocabulary of architectural design by examining how form and space are ordered in the built environment.

Using his trademark meticulous drawing, Professor Ching shows the relationship between fundamental elements of architecture through the ages and across cultural boundaries. By looking at these seminal ideas, Architecture: Form, Space, and Order encourages the reader to look critically at the built environment and promotes a more evocative understanding of architecture.

In addition to updates to content and many of the illustrations, this new edition includes a companion CD-ROM that brings the book's architectural concepts to life through three-dimensional models and animations created by Professor Ching.


Cover Art
Cradle to Cradle - William McDonough; Michael Braungart
ISBN: 9780865475878
Publication Date: 2002-04-22
A manifesto for a radically different philosophy and practice of manufacture and environmentalism

"Reduce, reuse, recycle" urge environmentalists; in other words, do more with less in order to minimize damage. As William McDonough and Michael Braungart argue in their provocative, visionary book, however, this approach perpetuates a one-way, "cradle to grave" manufacturing model that dates to the Industrial Revolution and casts off as much as 90 percent of the materials it uses as waste, much of it toxic. Why not challenge the notion that human industry must inevitably damage the natural world, they ask.

In fact, why not take nature itself as our model? A tree produces thousands of blossoms in order to create another tree, yet we do not consider its abundance wasteful but safe, beautiful, and highly effective; hence, "waste equals food" is the first principle the book sets forth. Products might be designed so that, after their useful life, they provide nourishment for something new-either as "biological nutrients" that safely re-enter the environment or as "technical nutrients" that circulate within closed-loop industrial cycles, without being "downcycled" into low-grade uses (as most "recyclables" now are).

Elaborating their principles from experience (re)designing everything from carpeting to corporate campuses, the authors make an exciting and viable case for change.

Cover Art
Designing Design - Kenya Hara
ISBN: 9783037781050
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Representing a new generation of designers in Japan, Kenya Hara (born 1958) pays tribute to his mentors, using long overlooked Japanese icons and images in much of his work. In “Designing Design”, he impresses upon the reader the importance of “emptiness” in both the visual and philosophical traditions of Japan, and its application to design, made visible by means of numerous examples from his own work: Hara for instance designed the opening and closing ceremony programs for the Nagano Winter Olympic Games 1998. In 2001, he enrolled as a board member for the Japanese label MUJI and has considerably moulded the identity of this successful corporation as communication and design advisor ever since. Kenya Hara, alongside Naoto Fukasawa one of the leading design personalities in Japan, has also called attention to himself with exhibitions such as “Re-Design: The Daily Products of the 21st Century” of 2000.

Cover Art
Designing Interactions - Bill Moggridge
ISBN: 9780262134743
Publication Date: 2006-10-18

Digital technology has changed the way we interact with everything from the games we play to the tools we use at work. Designers of digital technology products no longer regard their job as designing a physical object--beautiful or utilitarian--but as designing our interactions with it. In Designing Interactions, award-winning designer Bill Moggridge introduces us to forty influential designers who have shaped our interaction with technology. Moggridge, designer of the first laptop computer (the GRiD Compass, 1981) and a founder of the design firm IDEO, tells us these stories from an industry insider's viewpoint, tracing the evolution of ideas from inspiration to outcome. The innovators he interviews--including Will Wright, creator of The Sims, Larry Page and Sergey Brin, the founders of Google, and Doug Engelbart, Bill Atkinson, and others involved in the invention and development of the mouse and the desktop--have been instrumental in making a difference in the design of interactions. Their stories chart the history of entrepreneurial design development for technology.Moggridge and his interviewees discuss such questions as why a personal computer has a window in a desktop, what made Palm's handheld organizers so successful, what turns a game into a hobby, why Google is the search engine of choice, and why 30 million people in Japan choose the i-mode service for their cell phones. And Moggridge tells the story of his own design process and explains the focus on people and prototypes that has been successful at IDEO--how the needs and desires of people can inspire innovative designs and how prototyping methods are evolving for the design of digital technology.Designing Interactions is illustrated with more than 700 images, with color throughout. Accompanying the book is a DVD that contains segments from all the interviews intercut with examples of the interactions under discussion.Interviews with:Bill Atkinson " Durrell Bishop " Brendan Boyle " Dennis Boyle " Paul Bradley " Duane Bray " Sergey Brin " Stu Card " Gillian Crampton Smith " Chris Downs" Tony Dunne " John Ellenby " Doug Englebart " Jane Fulton Suri " Bill Gaver " Bing Gordon " Rob Haitani " Jeff Hawkins " Matt Hunter " Hiroshi Ishii " Bert Keely " David Kelley " Rikako Kojima " Brenda Laurel " David Liddle " Lavrans L vlie " John Maeda " Paul Mercer " Tim Mott " Joy Mountford " Takeshi Natsuno " Larry Page " Mark Podlaseck " Fiona Raby " Cordell Ratzlaff " Ben Reason " Jun Rekimoto " Steve Rogers " Fran Samalionis " Larry Tesler " Bill Verplank " Terry Winograd " Will Wright


Cover Art
Elements of Design - Gail Greet Hannah; Gail Greet Hannah
ISBN: 9781568983295
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
A hands-on book design students and designers alike will welcome. Elements of Design is a tribute to an exceptional teacher and a study of the abstract visual relationships that were her lifelong pursuit. Rowena Reed Kiostellow taught industrial design at Pratt Institute for more than fifty years and the designers she trained-and the designers they're training today-have changed the face of American design. This succinct, instructive, invaluable book reconstructs the series of exercises that led Kostellow's students from the manipulation of simple forms to the creation of complex solutions to difficult design problems. It includes her exercises and commentary along with selected student solutions, and concludes with examples of work from former students who became leaders in the field, including such well-known figures as Tucker Viemeisater, Ralph Applebaum, Ted Muehling, and many others.

Cover Art
Fab - Neil Gershenfeld
ISBN: 9780465027460
Publication Date: 2007-02-06
What if you could someday put the manufacturing power of an automobile plant on your desktop? According to Neil Gershenfeld, the renowned MIT scientist and inventor, the next big thing is personal fabrication-the ability to design and produce your own products, in your own home, with a machine that combines consumer electronics and industrial tools. Personal fabricators are about to revolutionize the world just as personal computers did a generation ago, and Fab shows us how.

Cover Art
Folding Techniques for Designers - Paul Jackson
ISBN: 9781856697217
Publication Date: 2011-05-11
Many designers use folding techniques in their work to make three-dimensional forms from two-dimensional sheets of fabric, cardboard, plastic, metal, and many other materials. This unique book explains the key techniques of folding, such as pleated surfaces, curved folding and crumpling. An elegant, practical handbook, it covers over 70 techniques explained by clear step-by-step drawings, crease-pattern drawings, and specially commissioned photography.

Cover Art
It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be - Paul Arden
ISBN: 9780714843377
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be is a handbook of how to succeed in the world - a pocket 'bible' for the talented and timid to make the unthinkable thinkable and the impossible possible. The world's top advertising guru, Paul Arden, offers up his wisdom on issues as diverse as problem solving, responding to a brief, communicating, playing your cards right, making mistakes and creativity, all notions that can be applied to aspects of modern life. This book provides a unique insight into the world of advertising and is a quirky compilation of quotes, facts, pictures, wit and wisdom, packed into easy-to-digest, bite-sized spreads. If you want to succeed in life or business, this is a must!Paul Arden began his career in advertising at the age of 16. For 14 years he was Executive Creative Director at Saatchi and Saatchi, where he was responsible for some of Britain's best known campaigns including British Airways, Silk Cut, Anchor Butter, InterCity and Fuji. His famous slogans include 'The Car in front is a Toyota' and 'The Independent - It is - Are You?'. In 1993 he set up the London-based production company Arden Sutherland-Dodd where he is now a commercials director for clients such as BT, BMW, Ford, Nestle and Levis.

Cover Art
Process - Jennifer Hudson
ISBN: 9781856697255
Publication Date: 2011-05-11
This book provides an in-depth study of the creative and manufacturing processes behind 50 contemporary domestic design objects. Chosen from around the world, they span furniture, lighting, tableware, and textiles. The work of both long-established and emerging designers is featured, with each product selected for its significant use of new technology, unorthodox, or complex production process, use of innovative materials and, in some cases, for the creative concept behind it.

Cover Art
Sketching - Koos Eissen; Roselien Steur
ISBN: 9789063691714
Publication Date: 2009-04-01

Sketchingis an incredibly broad and practical survey of sketching techniques for product designers. It goes without saying that the book is suited for the classroom, but every design studio will also find this manual an asset, because in spite of the ascendancy of the computer, hand-drawn sketches are still a very much used.


Cover Art
Small Is the New Big - Seth Godin
ISBN: 9781591841265
Publication Date: 2006-08-17

As one of today’s most influential business thinkers, Seth Godin helps his army of fans stay focused, stay connected, and stay dissatisfied with the status quo, the ordinary, the boring. His books, blog posts, magazine articles, and speeches have inspired countless entrepreneurs, marketing people, innovators, and managers around the world.

Now, for the first time, Godin has collected the most provocative short pieces from his pioneering blog-ranked #70 by Feedster (out of millions published) in worldwide readership. This book also includes his most popular columns from Fast Company magazine, and several of the short e-books he has written in the last few years.

A sample:

  • Bon Jovi And The Pirates
  • Christmas Card Spam
  • Clinging To Your Job Title?
  • How Much Would You Pay to Be on Oprah’s Show?
  • The Persistence of Really Bad Ideas
  • The Seduction of “Good Enough”
  • What Happens When It's All on Tape?
  • Would You Buy Life Insurance at a Rock Concert?

Small is the New Big is a huge bowl of inspiration that you can gobble in one sitting or dip into at any time. As Godin writes in his introduction: “I guarantee that you'll find some ideas that don’t work for you. But I’m certain that you're smart enough to see the stuff you’ve always wanted to do, buried deep inside one of these riffs. And I’m betting that once inspired, you’ll actually make something happen.”


Cover Art
The Art of Innovation - Tom Kelley; Jonathan Littman
ISBN: 9780385499842
Publication Date: 2001-01-16
IDEO, the widely admired, award-winning design and development firm that brought the world the Apple mouse, Polaroid's I-Zone instant camera, the Palm V, and hundreds of other cutting-edge products and services, reveals its secrets for fostering a culture and process of continuous innovation.

There isn't a business in America that doesn't want to be more creative in its thinking, products, and processes. At many companies, being first with a concept and first to market are critical just to survive. In The Art of Innovation, Tom Kelley, general manager of the Silicon Valley based design firm IDEO, takes readers behind the scenes of this wildly imaginative and energized company to reveal the strategies and secrets it uses to turn out hit after hit.

IDEO doesn't buy into the myth of the lone genius working away in isolation, waiting for great ideas to strike. Kelley believes everyone can be creative, and the goal at his firm is to tap into that wellspring of creativity in order to make innovation a way of life. How does it do that? IDEO fosters an atmosphere conducive to freely expressing ideas, breaking the rules, and freeing people to design their own work environments. IDEO's focus on teamwork generates countless breakthroughs, fueled by the constant give-and-take among people ready to share ideas and reap the benefits of the group process. IDEO has created an intense, quick-turnaround, brainstorm-and-build process dubbed "the Deep Dive."

In entertaining anecdotes, Kelley illustrates some of his firm's own successes (and joyful failures), as well as pioneering efforts at other leading companies. The book reveals how teams research and immerse themselves in every possible aspect of a new product or service, examining it from the perspective of clients, consumers, and other critical audiences.

Kelley takes the reader through the IDEO problem-solving method:

> Carefully observing the behavior or "anthropology" of the people who will be using a product or service

> Brainstorming with high-energy sessions focused on tangible results

> Quickly prototyping ideas and designs at every step of the way

> Cross-pollinating to find solutions from other fields

> Taking risks, and failing your way to success

> Building a "Greenhouse" for innovation

IDEO has won more awards in the last ten years than any other firm of its kind, and a full half-hour Nightline presentation of its creative process received one of the show's highest ratings. The Art of Innovation will provide business leaders with the insights and tools they need to make their companies the leading-edge, top-rated stars of their industries.

Cover Art
The Brand Gap - Marty Neumeier
ISBN: 9780321348104
Publication Date: 2005-08-04
THE BRAND GAP is the first book to present a unified theory of brand-building.  Whereas most books on branding are weighted toward either a strategic or creative approach, this book shows how both ways of thinking can unite to produce a “charismatic brand”-a brand that customers feel is essential to their lives. In an entertaining two-hour read you’ll learn:

• the new definition of brand
• the five essential disciplines of brand-building
• how branding is changing the dynamics of competition
• the three most powerful questions to ask about any brand
• why collaboration is the key to brand-building
• how design determines a customer’s experience
• how to test brand concepts quickly and cheaply
• the importance of managing brands from the inside
• 220-word brand glossary

From the back cover:
Not since McLuhan’s THE MEDIUM IS THE MESSAGE has a book compressed so many ideas into so few pages. Using the visual language of the boardroom, Neumeier presents the first unified theory of branding-a set of five disciplines to help companies bridge the gap between brand strategy and customer experience. Those with a grasp of branding will be inspired by the new perspectives they find here, and those who would like to understand it better will suddenly “get it.” This deceptively simple book offers everyone in the company access to “the most powerful business tool since the spreadsheet.”

Cover Art
The Designful Company - Marty Neumeier
ISBN: 9780321580061
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Part manifesto, part handbook, THE DESIGNFUL COMPANY provides a lively overview of a growing trend in management-design thinking as a business competence. According to the author, traditional managers have relied on a two-step process to make decisions, which he calls “knowing” and “doing.” Yet in today’s innovation-driven marketplace, managers need to insert a middle step, called “making.” Making is a phase in which assumptions are questioned, futures are imagined, and prototypes are tested, producing a wide range of options that didn’t exist before. The reader is challenged to consider the author’s bold assertion: There can be no real innovation without design. Those who are new to Marty Neumeier’s “whiteboard” series may want to ramp up with the first two books, THE BRAND GAP and ZAG. Both are easy reads. Covered in THE DESIGNFUL COMPANY: - the top 10 “wicked problems” that only design can solve - a new, broader definition of design - why designing trumps deciding in an era of change - how to harness the “organic drivetrain” of value creation - how aesthetics add nuance to managing - 16 levers to transform your company - why you should bring design management inside - how to assemble an innovation metateam - how to recognize and reward talent From the back cover: The complex business problems we face today can’t be solved with the same thinking that created them. Instead, we need to start from a place outside traditional management. Forget total quality. Forget top-down strategy. In an era of fast-moving markets and leap-frogging innovations, we can no longer “decide” the way forward. Today we have to “design” the way forward-or risk ending up in the fossil layers of history. Marty Neumeier, author of THE BRAND GAP and ZAG, presents the new management engine that can transform your company into a powerhouse of nonstop innovation.

Cover Art
The Lovemarks Effect - Kevin Roberts
ISBN: 9781576872673
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
A business revolution is changing all the rules of the marketplace. Power is shifting from manufacturers and retailers directly to consumers, freshly enabled with information, choice, and connectivity. Price, service, quality, and design advantages are no longer enough to win.

In 2000, Kevin Roberts, CEO Worldwide of ideas company Saatchi & Saatchi said that brands were running out of juice. In Lovemarks: the future beyond brands, Roberts showed how Mystery, Sensuality, and Intimacy can create powerful emotional connections with consumers. The response to the book was electric. Now in 16 languages, Lovemarks has generated a wave of consumer conversations stretching over 100-plus countries.

In this follow-up book, The Lovemarks Effect: Winning in the Consumer Revolution, the people speak: consumers, owners, and marketers show the impact of Lovemarks on their lives, their businesses, and their aspirations. How consumers feel about your company-their emotional connection to you-is what now determines success. The Lovemarks Effect: Winning in the Consumer Revolution offers instruction and inspiration about creating emotional connections and winning in a consumer-empowered future.

From the aisles of the in-store experience to the power of sustainable design, from Lovemarks research to consumer stories, The Lovemarks Effect is a joyride through the evolving business landscape.

Cover Art
Universal Principles of Design - William Lidwell; Kritina Holden; Jill Butler
ISBN: 9781592535873
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Whether a marketing campaign or a museum exhibit, a video game or a complex control system, the design we see is the culmination of many concepts and practices brought together from a variety of disciplines. Because no one can be an expert on everything, designers have always had to scramble to find the information and know-how required to make a design work-until now.

Universal Principles of Design, Revised and Updatedis a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary encyclopedia of design. Richly illustrated and easy to navigate, it pairs clear explanations of every design concept with visual examples of the concepts applied in practice. From the "80/20” rule to chunking, from baby-face bias to Occam's razor, and from self-similarity to storytelling, every major design concept is defined and illustrated for readers to expand their knowledge.

This landmark reference will become the standard for designers, engineers, architects, and students who seek to broaden and improve their design expertise.


 

Upper School Librarian

Profile Image
Elena Barrio
Contact Info
2890 N. Fulton Dr.
Atlanta, GA 30305
404-841-3853
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip